Web-Based Applications for Daily Use

This post will not be about Butterfly, but rather on the way our team works with different applications. We want to share with you our passion towards Web-based applications.

We love using cloud computing, Web-based applications, SaaS. Call it however you like.

The Internet provides us with some powerful applications and services.

A few years ago, some of the most obvious services were unthinkable. Looking up any music video on YouTube, have two people work on a document at the same time, share calendars, upload photos to the Internet instantly from anywhere, and the list goes on.

The Web offers a unique advantage over desktop applications. The Web allows users to share and collaborate, together or separately on the same item or information. With desktop applications, that would require a lot of setting up to get a connection. The Web, however, makes that as easy as a click. Another advantage is that you always use the newest version of the service, without installing or updating anything.

The idea for Project Butterfly was inspired by services like Google Docs, and as a team that develops a Web-based application for CAD editing – we have a strong belief in Web applications. When we started out we decided that for the first month we would use nothing but a Web browser – no desktop applications what-so-ever. We wanted to see what issues come up when you use nothing but Web-based applications.

Like in any company, we needed to make use of E-Mail, documents, storage and more. The Internet provided us with next-to-free solutions for our needs – and they serve us loyally to this day. We do use some desktop software, though. Apart from the development workspace and vector graphics design there’s still no online tool that can totally replace its desktop equivalent.

I will admit that there are some setbacks for using Web-based applications, mostly the missing features in the application. For example, we are having a hard time creating rich graphs in Google Spreadsheets, and it’s almost impossible to create print-ready documents.

The Web allows people all over the world share their photos, music, videos, blog posts and documents. We hope that with Project Butterfly, professionals around the globe will work and collaborate on CAD drawings within their Web browser.

Here are some of the Web-based applications that we’re making use of:

  • Gmail, Google docs, Google calendar – For all our communication needs, meetings and documents in the office.
  • Bugzilla – Our software development and bug-tracking tool. While this is not exactly SaaS (because we installed it on a server of our own), it’s still an important tool for us.
  • WordPress.com – Running this blog. We could install a WordPress application of our own, but why do that when we can host it on dedicated, stable servers?
  • DropBox – Backing up files and synchronizing our home and office computers.
  • Remember The Milk – Managing and sharing work tasks as well as personal tasks.
  • Grooveshark – Our way of listening to music during the day.
  • And more…

How do you use Web-based applications for productivity?

16 Comments

  1. Posted March 11, 2010 at 2:47 AM | Permalink

    The truth is that we internet opens a wide range of opportunities.
    I use almost all the online tools and also google dropbox, which I find a great site.
    To listen to music I usually use spotify and http://www.jamendo.com (music copyright free) but you say this site is also very good.

  2. Posted March 11, 2010 at 4:11 AM | Permalink

    I use the same aplications, but spotify for the music. And Butterfly for cad file, of course!

  3. Posted March 11, 2010 at 5:24 AM | Permalink

    I have to say that Threadsy (multiple e-mails, twitter and Facebook compositor) is my new best friend. And definitely Evernote for keeping track of everything.

  4. Butterfly
    Posted March 11, 2010 at 5:43 AM | Permalink

    Interesting apps! I haven’t heard of them until now. Keep the input coming.

    Asaf Sagi
    Product Manager

  5. Posted March 11, 2010 at 10:12 AM | Permalink

    I use Pandora for music – http://www.pandora.com.

  6. Posted March 30, 2010 at 12:47 AM | Permalink

    I can’t live without all the google apps, I found google calendar to be most practical calendar tool ever..

  7. Posted December 29, 2012 at 2:25 PM | Permalink

    whoah this blog is wonderful i really like studying your posts.
    Stay up the great work! You understand, many people are
    looking round for this information, you can aid them greatly.

  8. Posted January 15, 2013 at 9:09 AM | Permalink

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your site on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .
    . Anyways, great blog!

  9. Posted March 3, 2013 at 2:42 PM | Permalink

    I have fun with, cause I found just what I used to be having a look for.
    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you
    man. Have a nice day. Bye

  10. Posted March 12, 2013 at 6:38 AM | Permalink

    Excellent post. Keep posting such kind of info on your site.

    Im really impressed by it.
    Hey there, You’ve done an incredible job. I’ll definitely digg it and in my view recommend
    to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  11. Posted April 27, 2013 at 12:05 PM | Permalink

    Article writing is also a excitement, if you be acquainted with then you can write if not it is difficult to write.

  12. Posted May 16, 2013 at 2:48 PM | Permalink

    Hi, i believe that i saw you visited my site so i came to go back the desire?

    .I am trying to find things to improve my web site!

    I guess its good enough to make use of some of your ideas!
    !

  13. Posted May 16, 2013 at 11:38 PM | Permalink

    This design is spectacular! You certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost.

    ..HaHa!) Wonderful job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and
    more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

  14. Posted May 25, 2013 at 9:18 AM | Permalink

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.

    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I’ve shared your website in my
    social networks!

  15. Posted July 16, 2013 at 8:34 AM | Permalink

    Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in
    accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed account your
    blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  16. Posted July 25, 2013 at 12:24 PM | Permalink

    You have to have help with your own consolidation loanss and also prevent such situations from occurring again is the ‘relief’ that the government
    is their puppet.


2 Trackbacks

  1. [...] and Cons of Cloud Storage We’ve discussed cloud computing and Web-based applications in this post. What we haven’t really talked about yet is “cloud storage” or online [...]

  2. [...] While those common tools accomplish their missions, they do pose some problems such as file formats and versions, file size limits, security tools, redrawing modifications, and more. Project Butterfly was designed to be a software as a service (SaaS) because the solution to those problems lies in SaaS and the technological advantages it brings. [...]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers

